Mmmmmm, rest day. I have a feeling that as my runs get longer and the trianing gets harder, that the only thing that will keep me going during the week is looking at my training schedule and seeing the beloved REST. I’m actually not too sore today from the week like I usually am on Sundays. Maybe that Icy Hot is really working šŸ˜‰

I’ve been tired all day because I had the hardest time sleeping last night. Want to know why? Because I had that stupid “I want to be a billionare” song stuck in my head and I couldn’t sleep because I just kept singing it over and over and over. Specifically the part where he goes “smiling next to Oprah and the Queen. (What up Oprah?). Oh man, it was brutal. And the worst part is that this isn’t the first time I haven’t been able to sleep because of this exact song! How annoying!

Today was mostly spent doing this:

I hate geometry, always have, always will. And I can pretty much guarantee you that in my career I will never once have to determine the volume of a cylindrical tube inscribed within a hexagon, or someĀ nonsense like that. Oh, and yes, that calculator is indeed circa-1984. I left my fancy schmancy graphing caluclator at work so I had to make due with what I could find at my parents’ house, which turned out to be our ghetto-fab kitchen calculator. There were definitely bits of food stuck between the numbers. I can’t even tell you how many calories have been calculated on this thing.

Don’t you worry, I also did some fabulous cooking this weekend. In honor of my vegetarian sister’s last weekend in Pittsburgh before going off to the big scary world of college, I made a tofu meal. This is not just any tofu meal though, it is perhaps one of my all time favorite meals PERIOD. Vegetarian or not. And yes, it has tofu AND brussels sprouts which is enough to scare off most people, but seriously, it is amazing. Caramelized Tofu with Brussels Sprouts. Go make it. Seriously. It’s awesome. Don’t forget the cilantro because it really makes the dish. The first time I made this was a few years back when I was still a cooking novice and wouldn’t you know, I completely sliced off part of my finger cutting the cilantro! This was quite a problem because I have a mega fear of blood so I had to somehow bandage my finger up without actually looking at it. Then, for at least 18 months I couldn’t even get near cilantro because to me it just smelled and tasted like blood. Thank goodness I’m over that now because it’s great!

Since my parents were gracious enough to hand over their credit card so that I could get the ingredients for the tofu meal, I obviously took advantage of the situation and picked up some ridiculously expensive jumbo scallops for myself. Then I made Vanilla Scented Scallops with Creamed Corn Quinoa out of the current issue of Clean Eating magazine. Of course it was amazing. This is legit the best magazine EVER. Every single thing I’ve made from here (and I’ve made a lot) has been outstanding. I highly recommend it.

And now I’m going to get back to the Law & Order SVU marathon that has been on all day, how great is that! My favorite show ever!

