Obsessed.

My new shoes are so great! That, along with the running tips I got on my form last night led to an awesome 5 mile run this morning. It was a lot of fun and I felt great the whole time. Miles 2.5-3.5 were a little rough due to some killer hills but I pushed through. I felt a little bit of discomfort in my shins but nowhere near the agonizing pain I was feeling before. Hooray!

Time: 51:06
Distance: 5 miles
Ave. Pace: 10:13
Ave. HR: 162
Max HR: 169

I’m really happy with these stats, here’s why:
1)I haven’t run 5 miles in a really long time. I ran a 10k in June and a 10k in April without training at all…I think I did a few 4 mile runs in preparation and didn’t run much other than that.
2)Even though I left at 5:30am it was already hot and muggy out
3)I had negative splits! My last 2 miles were faster than the first 3 which is so exciting!
4)It was a hilly route!
5)I used my awesome Garmin to compare my stats with my run from Tuesday and the pace was pretty much the same (10:08 vs. 10:13) but today my ave HR was 162 (compared to 170 on Tues) and my max HR was 169 (vs. 180 on Tues). And that’s running with more hills and 2 miles further! This is so great!

Hopefully I’ll keep seeing improvements 🙂

Yoga tonight was fantastic too.

Almost the weekend 🙂

