Thank god it’s Friday. And a long weekend. And a vacation. And most importantly, a “rest day” tomorrow. Whew. I’m done! I pushed it pretty hard this week which is great but my body is exhausted. I need some wine and girl talk and games of “pin the junk on the hunk” STAT. Ok, I made that last part up, but it is a bachelorette party so you never know!

So here is an interesting fact about me…I have an amazing internal alarm clock. Seriously…I don’t think I have actually used my alarm in over 2 years. I always set it just in case but usually wake up 2-5 minutes before. Well, today, like always I woke up just before my alarm at 5:25 and thought ‘hell no’ and moved it back to 6:45 and went back to sleep. I had a 4 mile run planned but decided to just do it after work. My legs were tired from my 5 miles yesterday and I was just exhausted. Well, lo and behold, I woke up again at 6:14 rearing and ready to go so I laced up my shoes and was out the door.

I’m not going to lie, I did not have high hopes for this run. I never, ever, ever run 2 days in a row because my shins are usually too sore but because of my new shoes and my need to build up miles so I can actually finish this race, I set off on my run, figuring I would just do what I could, walk when I had to, and take it as slow as I needed to.

It was harder than yesterday but not terrible. And guess what! Much to my surprise and utter delight I ended up finishing in an UNDER 10 min/mile pace! This is the first time I’ve been able to sustain a sub 10-min mile for over 2 miles in probably a year. I was so happy and excited!

Stats:
4 miles

39:29

482 calories

Ave. Pace: 9:52

Ave. HR:163

Max. HR: 177

Mile 1: 9:39
Mile 2: 10:03
Mile 3: 9:51
Mile 4: 9:56

