Hey guys! Happy weekend 🙂

I’m getting ready to hit the road for Washington DC for the Cherry Blossom 10 mile race and let me tell you, packing for an out of town race is much harder than you’d think! And this is just for a running race, I can’t even imagine how hard it’s going to be when I have to pack for my triathlon in June. My list will be as long as the swim! 😉 (you know… ‘I have a list a mile long!) Right, if you have to explain a joke it’s not funny…

Ok so anyway, back to why I am especially paranoid about packing….You see, I am about as type-A and organized as it gets. My closet is color coordinated by style. I carry a notepad around with more lists than you’d even believe. I sometimes write out my schedule to the minute (7:22 leave for the bus)… so you would think that I would never overlook something very important on race day. But alas, I guess I am not perfect after all!

So let’s go back to my first half marathon in November. I trained hard for months and months. Everything was looking good, the training done, the registration complete, the hotel and dinner reservations made. Great! I packed up everything I would need from my apartment, spent the night at my parents house and off we went. Great expo, great dinner, bed by 8:30.

Then I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst feeling in the world: I forgot something. So of course I got up to double check everything. I had my clothes, shoes, socks, garmin, bread, pb, gu, race number. Oh crap, I forgot a knife. I guess I’ll just have to spread the peanut butter with my finger. Not the end of the world. I still have a nagging feeling something is wrong but it must just be the knife. Go back to sleep.

Then the next morning I am eating my pre-race meal and starting to get ready. Wait, where is my sports bra? Oh no, oh no, no, no, no, no, no! This is not happening. Now everyone who knows me knows that there is no way I could possibly get away with no sports bra or just that little shelf thing in my running tank. No way. I started to panick but had to get going so I could get to the start line in time! Well, lacy pink underwire bra, looks like it’s just you and me.

I did have the tank with the built in bra and since it was cold, lots of other layers which helped keep everything in place. Honestly I didn’t even notice it the entire race.

Then, I got in the shower. HOLY CHAFING! I actually screamed. I don’t know if I have ever been in so much pain. But you know what, it didn’t matter, I still had one of the best days and races of my life. And I had a great story to tell. Whenever someone complains about anything dumb, ” I can say “Well, once I ran 13.1 miles in a regular bra. Beat that.”

So, moral of the story: Check everything at least 87 times. I did. And I packed 2 sports bras, and am wearing one now, just in case.

Ok, running 10 miles tomorrow. Wish me luck!

