I was reading my USA Triathlon magazine the other day and came across a list called “The Tao Of Triathlon” which gave 14 tips for racing. One in particular really struck me, especially coming off my funk from the beginning of the week. “No matter how bad and irreperable things may seem, stay the course, it will all eventually get good again.”

This is something I always try to remind myself of when things aren’t going so well. It’s definitely hard to believe that things will get easier and better when they seem so tough, but they will. Whether it’s the crappy mile 7 of a race, or a rough week of training.

I just had my “recovery week” and it was exactly what I needed…I feel refreshed, re-energized, happier, and ready to work hard again! It was pretty funny though, I was talking to a friend at work and he asked what workout I had planned that evening and I said “nothing! It’s my recovery week!” and he goes “haha, yeah, we’ll call it mine too because I haven’t done anything for 5 days!” and I said “well, I’m still training….just once a day instead of twice and they are easier workouts….I only had to swim 1200 yards today 🙂 ”

So today I went out for a 40 minute run, my first run since the disasterous one on Tuesday. I went to my usual trail which is uphill going out and downhill coming back. Boy were those first 2 miles tough! I did want to quit a few times but I just kept reminding myself of that quote and how I just have to make it to the turnaround point and things WILL get easier. I made it and they did 🙂

This also reminded me of a time last year when I started running again after my 4 month winter hiatus (luckily I didn’t make that mistake again this year!) I had a particularly tough run and was whining about it to my friend saying that it was just so HARD. That’s when I got the advice: “It’s supposed to be hard. If it was easy, everyone would do it.”

That is so true. If running was easy it wouldn’t be the same. It wouldn’t be as rewarding—nobody is going to brag “I’m going to walk 2 hours this weekend, how cool is that?!” Now I’m not saying that running is supposed to suck and be painful and awful, but if it wasn’t challenging it wouldn’t be as fun. If there were no obstacles, there would be no victories. And where is the fun in that?

