Last weekend I looked at my schedule for the week and saw a couple tough workouts followed by the most amazing thing ever: 2 rest days this week! Oh wow! I didn’t even know what to do with myself. Boy is tapering nice.

Guys, I’m not going to lie—I am nervous for this half marathon on Sunday. When I did my first one back in November I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself into. The day was just full of excitement and my only goal was just to finish. I ended up rocking it and finished in 2:04. It was hard but most things went right–my stomach felt great and the weather was perfect. Mile 11 was really hard–I walked a little and was just ready to be done but I pushed through and finished strong. Well this time around I know what I am getting myself into. I know that it is going to be hard and it is going to hurt. I know that I’m going to have those moments when things aren’t great and I want to walk, or quit, or just lay down on the ground and cry, and I know that I will get over it and feel better but getting through it is the hardest part. Oh, and yeah they are predicting rain–awesome.

So when I was running my race the other week a girl in front of me had on this awesome t-shirt that really picked me up and motivated me. It reminded me all I’ve been through with training and really helped me keep going. So right when I got home I went online and looked up the shirt and ordered it for myself! I’m goingto wear it to the race (in the rain….) and hope that it can help someone else just like it helped me!

Ok, and now here is a funny story just to prove how clueless and gullible I can be at times:

So I went to physical therapy and got the crap beaten out of my leg again this week. Midway through my therapist stops and starts rubbing my leg with a towel and looking at it. So I was like “umm, whatcha doin there bud?” and he goes “just making sure you weren’t bleeding out.” to which I made the joke “oh yikes. I bet I’m bleeding on the inside though!” to which he looks at me like I’m an idiot and says “well, yeah….what do you think causes bruising?” Hmm, so yeah, I had no idea that’s what caused bruises and then I started to think about it and got really queasy and almost puked on the guy. I really do not like blood. Luckily I kept it together and just went to get a drink of water and some fresh air. Could you imagine puking on the poor guy after I punched him last week! Boy would he hate me.

Anyway, that wasn’t even the funny part. So today I was telling my friend at work about it and how gross it is and that my leg is so red that there must be so much blood floating around in my leg that if I even got a little paper cut there would be a pool of it on the floor.

Him: You should get it drained and donate it.

Me: Eww, that is disgusting.

Him: Yeah, it’s gross but Sarah, stop being so self centered, people could really use that blood. It could save lives.

Me: (feeling really guilty and bad) Well yeah, but like what? I’m not going to slice open my leg, jar it up and go over to the blood bank.

Him: Of course not. They’ll do it for you. Athletes do it all the time.

So then I start googling “leg blood drainage pittsburgh and am coming up empty.

Me: Do you think they do this in Pittsburgh? I can’t find anything.

Him: Wow….I’m KIDDING. Of course that is not a real thing!

And then I started laughing really hard because I can’t believe I fell for that!

Ok friends, time for bed! Gotta get my rest in before race day 🙂

